Pakatan forms ‘cabinet’ committees, not shadow cabinet

Pakatan Rakyat today announced the setting up of committees to correspond with the 25 ministries in the federal cabinet.

“There are 25 ministries and each ministry will have a member of parliament from PKR, DAP and PAS.

“And the committees will also have specialists in respective fields to help the Pakatan MPs,” said PKR vice-president Azmin Ali at a press conference in Parliament today.

He added that the committees – officially known as Pakatan Rakyat Members of Parliament Committee – were formed to focus on parliamentary duties which includes debating bills and to be prepared for the question-and-answer session.

“We want Pakatan Rakyat MPs to be well-prepared in the aspects of research and reference. That is why there would be certain members who specialise in the respective fields in the committees,” he added.

He further said that the committees were formed a few months ago and had had meetings and discussions.

“The next parliamentary session on Oct 15 is an important session as the budget will be read then. By then we hope that the MPs tasked with the relevant ministries will be updated with the latest information,” said Azmin.

Not a shadow cabinet

He however stressed that this was not a shadow cabinet.

“For the time being, this is enough,” he said, adding that Pakatan will make a decision on the shadow cabinet when the right moment arrives.

DAP MP Tony Pua who was also at the press conference said Pakatan had not formed a shadow cabinet as it was not recognised by the Parliament as was practiced in other countries.

He said that in other countries the shadow cabinets were recognised and assisted by the Parliament to help with research to provide constructive feedback.

“In our case we will never get such a recognition… committees are more practical,” he said.

Below is the list of MPs and the ministries under their charge:

Prime Minister’s Department

PKR: Anwar Ibrahim, Mohamed Azmin Ali, R Sivarasa, Abdul Khalid Ibrahim, William Leong, Ahamd Kasim and Fuziah Salleh

PAS: Abdul Hadi Awang, Nasharudin Mat Isa, Salahuddin Ayub, Hatta Ramli, Dzulkifli Ahmad, Taib Azamuddin, Khalid Samad

DAP: Lim Kit Siang, Ngeh Koo Ham, Hiew King Chiew, John Fernandez

Home Affairs

Johari Abdul (PKR), Salahuddin Ayub (PAS), Karpal Singh (DAP)


Mohamed Azmin Ali (PKR), Dzulkifli Ahmad (PAS), Lim Guan Eng (DAP)


Zahrain Mohamed Hashim (PKR), Khalid Samad (PAS), Tan Kok Wai (DAP)


Kamarul Bahrin Abbas (PKR), Mahfuz Omar (PAS), Gobind Singh Deo (DAP)

Plantation Industries and Commodities

Rashid Din (PKR), Abd Rahim Wan Abdullah (PAS), Er Teck Hwa (DAP)

Energy, Green Technology and Water

Chua Tian Chang (PKR), Nasir Zakaria (PAS), Charles Santiago (DAP)

International Trade and Industry

William Leong (PKR), Hatta Ramli (PAS), Teresa Kok (DAP)

Agriculture and Agro-based Industry

Ahmad Kassim (PKR), Taib Azamuddin Md Taib (PAS), Sim Tong Him (DAP)

Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs

Azan Ismail (PKR), Mohd Abdul Wahid Endut (PAS), Jeff Ooi (DAP)


Yusmadi Yusoff (PKR), Che Uda Che Nik (PAS), Chong Eng (DAP)

Culture, Arts and Communication

Amran Abdul Ghani (PKR), Mahfuz Omar (PAS), Teo Nie Ching (DAP)

Human Resources

Abdullah Sani Abdul Hamid (PKR), Muhammad Husin (PAS), M Kulasegaran (DAP)

Science, Technology and Innovation

Nurul Izzah Anwar, Che Rosli Che Mat (PAS), Chow Kon Yeow (DAP)

Housing and Local Government

Hee Loy Hsien (PKR), Siti Mariah Mahmud (PAS), Nga Kor Ming (DAP)


Saifuddin Nasution Ismail (PKR), Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin (PAS), Liew Chin Tong (DAP)

Rural and Regional Development

Abdul Aziz Kadir (PKR), Abdul Halim Abdul Rahman (PAS), M Manogaran (DAP)

Foreign Affair

R Sivarasa (PKR), Kamarudin Jaffar (PAS), P Ramasamy (DAP)

Sports and Youth

Tan Tee Beng (PKR), Mohd Firdaus Jaafar (PAS), Anthony Loke (DAP)


Lee Boon Chye (PKR), Mohd Hayati Othman (PAS), Tan Seng Giaw (DAP)

Women, Family and Community Development

Zuraida Kamaruddin (PKR), Siti Zailah Mohd Yusuf (PAS), Fong Po Kuan (DAP)


S Manikavasagam, Wan Abd Rahim Wan Abdulllah (PAS), Fong Kui Lun (DAP)

Federal Territory

Wee Choo Keong (PKR), Lo’Lo’ Ghazali (PAS), Lim Lip Eng (DAP)

Higher Education

Zulkifli Nordin (PKR), Salahuddin Ayub (PAS), Tony Pua (DAP)

Natural Resources and Environment

N Gobalakrishnan (PKR), Mujahid Tusof Rawa (PAS), Chong Chien Jen (DAP)

Share this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles