DAP Johor State Committee Reshuffle

The DAP Johor State Committee which met on 29 May 2016 resolved to form an Election Preparation Committee and reshuffle the following Committee portfolios.

The newly-formed Election Preparation Committee will be headed by DAP Johor Chairman Liew Chin Tong. Former DAP State Organising Secretary Lim Eng Guan has been appointed as Deputy Chairman of the Election Preparation Committee and Political Secretary to State Chairman to begin mobilising the machinery and preparation work.

The state committee reshuffling takes into cognisance the more challenging political environment in the aftermath of the Sarawak state election and the need for internal reorganisation to respond. After reviewing the Sarawak state election results, DAP Johor State Committee resolved to begin election preparation by establishing the new unit and reshuffle internal portfolios in order to allow preparation work to proceed smoothly.

Lim Eng Guan, who is also Bekok State Assemblyman, will be the core leader leading the electoral preparation effort, particularly with focus on the Labis Parliamentary and Paloh State seats which DAP failed to capture in the last general election. Lim is relinquishing his post as State Organising Secretary to focus on election preparation works.

The newly-appointed Election Preparation Committee Secretary is Ng Yak Howe, formerly the DAP Johor State Treasurer. Ng will also take over the role of DAP Johor Organising Secretary. Ng joined DAP in 2001 and is a local leader in Muar. Currently working as a Quality Control Engineer, he graduated with a Masters of Productivity and Quality Management Sciences from UKM.

Other members of the Election Preparation Committee are State Deputy Chairman S. Ramakrishnan, State Vice Chairman and Member of Parliament for Kulai Teo Nie Ching, State Assistant Publicity Secretary Sheikh Omar Ali, Tangkak Assemblyman Ee Chin Li, Mengkibol Assemblyman Tan Hong Pin, and Chief of Staff to State Chairman Low Tuck Chuan.

DAP National Headquarters Parliamentary Researcher Chung Yi Fan is appointed as the Election Preparation Committee Executive Secretary. A Rengit native, Chung graduated from Universiti Teknologi Malaysia with a Degree in Environmental Engineering and holds a Master of Environmental Studies and Sustainability Science from Lund University, Sweden. He joined the DAP National Headquarters as a Parliamentary Researcher after the 2013 general election.

Newly-appointed Chief of Staff to State Chairman, Low Tuck Chuan is a former television producer and director. Low holds a Film Directing Masters from Beijing Film Academy. He was responsible for the activities organised by Kluang Community Center such as the Pesta Warisan Tanglung and the Kluang Festival.

Current State Assistant Publicity Secretary and Special Assistant to Chairman Sheikh Omar Ali is also appointed to the Election Preparation Committee. Sheikh Omar is an Islamic Studies graduate from Universiti Malaya, he was an active student leader and formerly served as Executive Secretary of the former Pakatan Rakyat Secretariat. He left PAS to join DAP in 2015.

George Poh Eng Guan, a businessman, is promoted from Assistant Treasurer to Treasurer.

DAP Johor State Committee members involved in portfolio change
Assistant Secretary: Chen Kah Eng (former State Committee Member)
Treasurer: George Poh (former Assistant Treasurer)
Organising Secretary: Ng Yak Howe (former Treasurer)
Assistant Organising Secretary: Yeo Tung Siung (former Assistant Secretary), Ee Chin Li (Former State Committee Member)

DAP Johor Election Preparation Committee
Chair: Liew Chin Tong
Deputy Chair: Lim Eng Guan
Secretary : Ng Yak Howe
Executive Secretary: Chung Yi Fan
Members: Teo Nie Ching, S. Ramakrishnan, Sheikh Omar Ali, Ee Chin Li, Tan Hong Pin, Low Tuck Chuan

Share this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles